Skip to content

All About Fasshuuuhhnnn!

September 21, 2009
tags:

Somewhere between the works of Shakespeare to the burgeoning teen novels that’s occupying a whole new section at Barnes and Noble, lays an impressive display of fashion books. From the educational 9Heads to the in-depth history of Chanel, I find myself immersed in this genre’s tongue in cheek tale of today’s fashion trends and style mavens. For the longest time, I have been a huge fan of fashion books. I love reading about style do’s and don’ts, fashion faux pas and how to avoid them and mostly I just love anything about fashion.. from the monthly glossies to Sunday’s LA Times Image Section. Even with the upsurge of online sites and blogs about fashion, there is just something different about books. You are reading about fashion anyway, a topic so many people find irrelevant and superficial.. sometimes unlucrative. Hey, it doesn’t hurt to admire beautiful images and things. It just makes life more interesting.

On my nightstand right now are Nina Garcia’s trilogy of style books – The Little Black Book of Style, The One Hundred and the just released third installment, The Style Strategy. I also have Tim Gunn’s book and Victoria Beckham’s That Extra Half an Inch (I LOVE HER!) I enjoyed Michael Tonello’s Bringing Home the Birkin and obsessed with Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic series. I love chick lits and especially adore anything that’s set in Paris (my all time favorite city.. to visit.) I am also in the process of getting those gigantic hardbound books on beloved fashion houses like Chanel, Gucci, Dior, Lanvin, Christian Lacroix and many more. It is quite an investment so I am taking it one book at a time. My fashionista library is slowly but masterfully coming together and I am uber happy and excited. So when I’m not shoe shopping and bag whoring and in between changing diapers or putting my baby to sleep, I’m curled up reading a feel-good book.. about fashion and life and Paris and everything in between.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2009 9:38 am

    So pleased that you enjoyed my book. Thanks for posting (and reading)…and thanks for putting my book on top of the pile!
    🙂
    be well,
    michael~

    • Amelie permalink*
      October 9, 2009 4:51 pm

      oh michael! such an honor! is there a way i could ask you to autograph my copy??? i love your book soo much!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

