Skip to content

Bag Obsession

August 29, 2011

Obsession. Quite a strong word, I know. But who doesn’t indulge in a good obsession? First it’s curiosity. You try it. You like it. Then you try it again. You build a habit, a sort of ritual. You consciously and sometimes unconsciously think about it. You chase it. And at some point it crosses the line.

When is ever enough? I am not talking about booze, not even coffee. I am talking about my insatiable obsession with bags. I think it’s quite obvious after dedicating 13 posts on bags. (Yes, I counted!)

So here I am talking about bags when I just purchased my second Balenciaga bag. I will make sure to get the classics for an amazing collection. I only have 6 designer bags. I gave my Minkoff bag to my mother and sold my Wang. I have no-name brand clutches and my Marc by Marc Jacobs Tate Nylon that I used for school. In college, I have accumulated bags from Ralph Lauren, Coach, Tommy Hilfiger but all of them were given away when I migrated to this country. So I have a fairly small collection for a bag obsessed girl. Whenever I am planning to buy a new bag, I tend to get rid of other bags that I have. Out of guilt, perhaps. And also, so my husband can’t say I have too many bags. Coz truthfully, I don’t.

So here’s what I have been coveting. Since all of these bags are quite pricey , I can only get one in a year.

 

Proenza Schouler PS1 – also known as the anti-IT bag. I love the convenience of the crossbody and the messenger style is a classic. The large one is the same price as the Work so maybe the medium size one would be practical and less expensive.

Mulberry Alexa – Although it kinda resembles the PS1, the buffalo leather of the Alexa is to-die-for. It is also a messenger-style crossbody bag which is a staple and a classic.

Celine Luggage Tote – I am getting used to the slouchy feel of Balenciaga bags that it would definitely feel awkward at first once I switch to a structured bag. This tote is very unique, a show stopper and not to mention hard to get. This is my “Next In Line” bag.

Balenciaga Classic Black City with Regular Hardware – This will be my third Balenciaga. I kind of held off on purchasing the black coz it’s available all year round. It all depends on the leather that particular season/year coz I am looking for a distressed (think big fat wrinkles), smooshy, jet black leather like the 05 Chevre that is much talked about.

Chanel Jumbo Flap – The epitome of a classic and timeless bag. Who doesn’t want to own a piece of history? With 5K a pop, you’ll have Coco Chanel’s iconic bag. Ouch.

Miu Miu Bow Bag – This bag is very versatile. You can use it as a top handle, shoulder bag or crossbody. It is roomy enough to accomodate my essentials but it doesn’t look overwhelmingly big. It is quite feminine with the bow detail on the side.

Photos Courtesy of net-a-porter.com, balenciaga.com, chanel.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2011 10:59 pm

    I love some of the outfits, I have just been searching for a few outfits for myself intresting to see what you have got too.

  2. March 24, 2012 4:47 am

    Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Bag Obsession .

Leave a Reply

