Skip to content

Chloe vs. Celine

September 6, 2011
tags: ,

 

There is one thing these two have in common.. Phoebe Philo. She was the assistant designer at Chloe when the brand was famous for its “IT” bag, the Paddington. Now, she’s the creative director of Celine and is the one responsible for putting Celine back on the map with the highly coveted Luggage Tote.

The Chloe Paraty and the Celine Luggage have excellent craftsmanship made of the finest materials. Right now, I am drawn to all leather, “no-logo” bags. I think it’s chic and more elegant. Gone are the days when the brands logo are splattered all over the bag. No offense to Gucci and LV, I know they are famous for their monogram prints on their bags but I think all leather handbags give more emphasis on the design and material rather than be distracted by the logo. And I like the fact that it’s not IN YOUR FACE and only bag enthusiasts can spot it a mile away. (Ok, so I’m exaggerating)

I have seen both bags in real life and although I’m partial to Celine, the Paraty is also gorgeous. The rolled leather gives the illusion of a structered bag but it is actually slouchy and soft when carried. If you own a Paddington and thought that it weighs more than a newborn baby, don’t fret. There are no crazy and heavy hardware on this bag so you don’t break an arm when you carry this arm candy.

When I saw the Luggage Tote at Nordstroms’ (I know! I was in shock it made it on the shelf) it was not bag lust at first sight. Maybe my expectations were quite high or because it was the black bag that I saw. If it were camel, cobalt blue or coquelicot maybe I would have heart palpitations. I was sad to leave the bag behind but happy to control my impulsive buying tendencies. I held it for at least 15 minutes and looked at every detail like the curved seam and the outer pocket. For me, the winged style made this classic tote stand out and even if it’s on the heavier side, you can hold it in different ways.

Both of these bags are at around the same price point and hopefully will live up to the hype. But how will you know if it’s just a trend or if it will be a classic? I don’t have the answer. Only time will tell. For now, I’ll continue to drool over these beauties until I’m off my bag ban.

Photo Courtesy of net-a-porter.com and celine.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2012 5:52 pm

    I real lucky to find this web site on bing, just what I was looking for : D likewise bookmarked .

Leave a Reply

