Skip to content

Chanel vs. Celine

January 10, 2012
tags: ,

When I went to Nordstrom last week, drooling over the display of designer handbags, the Chanel rep came over and said, “Celines are the new Chanels”.

So that got me thinking. Is it really or only because the Celines are very rare and hard to get right now?

Instead of the classic flap which holds more value, I used the GST because it’s more comparable to the Celine Luggage Tote. Both of these bags are made of high quality materials and impeccable craftsmanship. The totes are more casual and practical since it has more room. It’s more likely that you’ll see a Chanel than a Celine bag being carried because of its exclusivity and limited production and because of that, the Celines are sought after. But no one can go wrong with a Chanel, it stood the test of time. The Celine is just not there yet. It could end up being the next Fendi Spy Bag or the next Chloe Paddington but it could also be the next Balenciaga. And if you ask me and if I have the money to afford any of the two without living off of cup noodles for the rest of the year, I would choose the Chanel simply because it’s Chanel and there’s a lot of history that comes with this bag. The bottomline is, if you’re willing to spend a few thousand dollars on a handbag, it should be timeless.

Anyways, I’m not off my bag ban so I don’t even know why I’m torturing myself.

Photo Courtesy of Chanel & Celine 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2013 10:19 am

    Ahh! I am torn. I can’t decide between the two!

    • Amelie permalink*
      March 12, 2013 6:28 pm

      I would get the Chanel if I could! 🙂 Goodluck! I know it is a hard decision to make *wink* *wink*

    • July 9, 2014 7:22 pm

      same!!! Chanel is so classic & timeless, but celine is so new and trendy!! 😦 ugh I wish I had enough money for both *tear*

Leave a Reply

